• This topic has 3,636 voices and 6 replies.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Frank Dutil
    Participant

I found this for sale on a Russian auction site for $80 (I didn’t buy it, it’s still there). I’m no expert, I honestly couldn’t tell a fake from the real McCoy unless the fake was really obvious. But this particular piece has had me come back for looksees 5 days in a row now…

It’s either the bast fake/repro ever or the guy’s selling a real one and doesn’t know it? Or am I missing something obvious about it?

Please enlighten me. This sucker’s in my thoughts and dreams!
    lenin.jpg

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    felix

Pictures are poor, so it’s always hard to be sure but in my opinion it’s a good copy, you find the same (?) here :

http://www.collectrussia.com/DISPITEM.HTM?ITEM=24372

Christophe
    Participant

Bravo FX,

Well spotted !! :D

Cheers.

Ch.

lukasz gaszewski
    Participant

A popular replica of cheap metal. I think as long as it is not being sold as the original, it should not be called fake.

ed muller
    Participant

Lenin’s beard had a rounded point as in badges over 368,000. It should be more pointed for screwback. Are you familiar with the Good Lenin/ Evil Lenin change in bust of Lenin? Seems they used the wrong example.

A real example for comparison.
    P8030022-4.jpg
    P8030023-1.jpg

Attachments:
    ed muller
    Participant

As a follow-up research reveals the recipient of Lenin No. 403 (seen also on GMIC) as follows: